Bargain Steel Centre SA Sprint Champ Box Draw Written by: racing
Share on Facebook Add This

The best locally trained sprinters in the State gathered at Angle Park last night in two heats of the Bargain Steel Centre SA Sprint Championships.

The fastest qualifier for the final was in the second heat when Hukanui for trainer Tony Rasmussen produced and outstanding performance to easily account for his rivals. He began nicely from box 4 and speared across with Greysynd Ebony who flew the lids from box 3 to lead. Down the back straight Hukanui quickly put paid to Greysynd Ebony and ran to the front. Purpose Driven for Cameron Butcher and Mr. Arjay for Colin Swain came out of the back to make ground nicely however they were no match for Hukanui who raced away for a strong win. He ran a blistering 29.52 for the 515m journey with splits of 4.45 & 16.92 in winning by 4 ½ lengths and whilst drawing box 5 in the final he has to be one of the favourites for the sprint feature. Purpose Driven was an encouraging effort and looks to be getting back to his best whilst Mr. Arjay can lay claim to being one of the most improved sprinters in the state after making next weeks sprint final.

The first heat was taken out by the Jan Jones trained High Eden Frost who led throughout and withheld strong challenges over the concluding stages from Becky Bale for Lisa Rasmussen and Pyredos Monelli for Ben Rawlings. High Eden Frost ran a slick 29.79 with splits of 4.43 and 16.82 in winning by just under 1 length. He has drawn perfectly in box 1 for next week’s final and did run third in the Group 1 UBET Adelaide Cup back in October from the same box. Becky Bale produced one of her best performances to grab second and Pyredos Monelli ran home nicely but again has been luckless in the box draws, drawing box 6 in next weeks final.

The Box Draw for the 2018 Bargain Steel Centre SA Sprint Championship Final was conducted oncourse after the race.

1. High Eden Frost Jan Jones

2. Cairnlea Kenny Petar Jovanovic

3. Becky Bale Lisa Rasmussen

4. Prancer Dancer Paul Fagan

5. Hukanui Tony Rasmussen

6. Pyredos Monelli Ben Rawlings

7. Purpose Driven Cameron Butcher

8. Mr. Arjay Colin Swain

9. Stack The Aces (1st Res) Lauren Harris

10. Barton Bale (2nd Res) Tony Rasmussen