2019 Leigh Rogers Feature Final - Box Draw Written by: racing
Share on Facebook Add This

Four fantastic heats were conducted tonight at Angle Park where the first two greyhounds from each heat qualified for next week’s $11,435 Leigh Rogers Feature Final.


Some of the best young chasers in the state had their turn in the spotlight tonight and they didn’t disappoint. In heat 1, Little Earner for Tony Rasmussen set the series alight and kept his unbeaten run in tact when he made it 5 wins from 5 lifetime starts. He sizzled over the 515m journey in a flying 29.65 when he led throughout in winning by over 8 lengths from Springvale Issy who ran home well into second.


The second heat saw a determined effort from Long Gully Evie for Paula Hearnden who looked to be in awful trouble at the winning post of the first occasion from her inside draw however she showed courage to push through the field and run away with a strong 5 length victory. She ran a solid 30.26 in defeating Jabari for Neil Mann who lost no admirers at his third start, finding plenty of trouble early and being wide but showed good midrace dash to run into second.


The third heat was another brilliant display by Coorong Lucy for Cameron Butcher making it 5 wins on the bounce for her when she showed excellent speed to led Emerley Zero for Judi Hurley on the first turn and from there was in no danger as she raced away for a sizzling win. She ran a lighting 29.56 in winning by over 6 lengths from Emerley Zero who did a good job to hold onto second comfortably over the final stages.


The final heat went the way of Conner Peruzzi for Yvonne Maxwell which showed brilliant acceleration shortly after the start to race to the lead and from there was never headed running a slick 29.91. Whilst Main Exit for Lisa Rasmussen did a good job to get within 2 lengths of Conner Peruzzi late in the race the damage was done early when he opened up a race winning break.


Its shaping as a super race for some of our most promising young chasers who will hopefully take the next step into open company in the coming months. Good luck to all connections concerned.




The box draw for the 2019 Leigh Rogers Feature Final was conducted on track tonight:

  1. Jabari                                           Neil Mann
  2. Coorong Lucy                            Cameron Butcher
  3. Emerley Zero                      Judi Hurley
  4. Main Exit                             Lisa Rasmussen
  5. Little Earner                     Tony Rasmussen
  6. Springvale Issy                   Gavin Harris
  7. Long Gully Evie                   Paula Hearnden
  8. Conner Peruzzi                           Yvonne Maxwell
  9. What A Wish (1st Res)        Lisa Rasmussen
  10. Herculean (2nd Res)          Rob Harnas


GRSA introduced this race onto the feature race calendar two years ago in recognition of former long-time Food and Beverage Manager, Leigh Rogers, who lost his battle with a rare form of cancer three years ago.