Murray Bridge Greyhound Racing Club

As Greyhound Racing SA (GRSA) is set to open the new Murray Bridge greyhound racing track in the next few weeks, participants will need to become familiar with the new facility. The following information seeks to provide participants with everything they need to know in regards to racing and trialling at the Murray Bridge Greyhound Racing Club.



Getting to the track

The address of the new facility is 2 Kennett Road, Murray Bridge East. Participants travelling from the Adelaide direction can choose two different routes to get to the track.
The first is via the Murray Bridge town centre. Simply take the first Murray Bridge exit off the Princes Highway, then travel approximately 7km down Adelaide Road, through the town centre, cross the Murray River, then take a right turn into Kennett Road.
Alternatively, participants can avoid the Murray Bridge town centre by staying on the Princess Highway for an additional 9km, turning left onto Old Princess Highway and then traveling approximately 6km back to the west before turning left into Kennett Road. This route would also be for participants travelling from the south-east.


Travel times

Participants should be aware of the following travel times (times and distances sourced from Google Maps, travel times may vary depending on the day and time of travel):
•  Angle Park to Murray Bridge GRC - 1 hour 17 minutes (89km)
•  Gawler to Murray Bridge GRC - 1 hour 15 minutes (92km)
•  Two Wells to Murray Bridge GRC - 1 hour 45 minutes (120km)
•  Port Augusta to Murray Bridge GRC - 4 hours 9 minutes (367km)
•  Barmera to Murray Bridge GRC - 2 hour 12 minutes (207km)
•  Keith to Murray Bridge GRC - 1 hour 36 minutes (152km)
•  Mount Gambier to Murray Bridge GRC - 3 hour 47 minutes (361km)


Racing Information

Racing at the new Murray Bridge facility will commence on the 1-turn track in December, with straight racing set to commence a couple of months later in February. The main reasoning for this staggered start is to allow for staff and participants to become familiar with the new facility and the logistics of race meetings and trial sessions.
The delayed start to straight track racing will also allow for the completion of certain infrastructure including fencing, lure system and specialist broadcast and AV equipment.

The following race dates have been programmed at Murray Bridge in the next 3 months:


1-Turn Track Details

Participants visiting Murray Bridge will note the sheer size of the new 1-turn track in comparison to the existing tracks in SA. The 640-metre circumference of the circuit is substantially bigger than Angle Park (457m), Gawler (492m), Strathalbyn (443m) and Port Augusta (520m). The term ‘1-Turn’ track (sometimes called horseshoe track) refers to the majority of racing occurring around the home bend.

The following table gives a rough indication of expected race times and splits at the new track:


Operational Areas

Participants will need to quickly become familiar with the new venue for both race meetings and trial days. To assist in this process, the following map highlights the key areas that trainers should be aware of when bringing their greyhounds to the track.
The internals of the buildings should be very familiar to most participants, as their designs are based on facilities at the Gawler track. Participants enter the kennel house directly into the control area and it has a long hallway with 12 race kennel bays to the left. The wash bays are located on the verandah of the kennel house.
The patron building is loosely based on the Gawler equivalent and will feel very familiar to participants. Whilst it is not a double storey building, it is still elevated above the race tracks and has great views of the tracks and surrounds.
The empty out area that will be used for the first few months will become a public access area in the long term, however the maintenance team will need to establish a decent cover of grass to the right of the trainer’s carpark before the empty out area can be relocated.


Trialling Schedule

Until the construction phase of the project has been completed, GRSA is unable to confirm the commencement of trialling Murray Bridge. Based on the current schedule, it is hoped that trialling will commence the week beginning Monday 26th November, 2018.

In the lead up to the first meeting on Wednesday 19th December, GRSA anticipates the following trialling schedule before race meetings commence:
• Monday 26th November – 8.00am to 12.00pm
• Thursday 29th November – 8.00am to 12.00pm
• Saturday 1st December – 9.00am to 12.00pm
• Monday 3rd December – 8.00am to 12.00pm
• Thursday 6th December – 8.00am to 12.00pm
• Saturday 8th December – 9.00am to 12.00pm
• Monday 10th December – 8.00am to 12.00pm
• Wednesday 12th December – PICNIC MEETING
• Tuesday 18th December – 7.00pm to 10.00pm
• Wednesday 19th December – FIRST RACE MEETING
• Friday 21st December – 8.00am to 12:00pm
• Sunday 23rd December – SECOND RACE MEETING

(Note: Proposed trial times subject to confirmation)



The Committee is now in place at Murray Bridge Greyhound Racing Club:

Tony Hinrichsen (President)
Ryan Tugwell (Vice President]
Derek Anderson
Yvonne King
Trevor Dave
Tracey Davey
Pat Moule
Trevor Morgan (Secretary).



The Club is now open for applications for membership. We encourage participants who are likely to have a regular involvement with the track to get involved. The application form can be found on this link and any enquiries can be directed to Trevor Morgan on 0427 590 050 or